Mendelssohn, Shostakovich and Dvořák

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, February 21, 2013

Conductor Andrey Boreyko. (Kim Nowacki/WQXR)

Andrey Boreyko returns to the New York Philharmonic to conduct Mendelssohn’s Overture to Die Heimkehr aus der Fremde, Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No. 1 with violinist Frank Peter Zimmermann — returning to the orchestra after his tenure as last season’s Mary and James G. Wallach Artist-in-Residence — and Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9, "From the New World."

Program details:

Mendelssohn: Overture to Die Heimkehr aus der Fremde

Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1

Dvořák: Symphony No. 9, "From the New World"

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.