Janáček's Jenůfa from Zurich

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, February 28, 2013

• Listen to the Operavore stream

Leoš Janáček was in his 60s, at an age when many are thinking of retirement, when the surprise success of Jenůfa first brought him widespread fame. The opera is an undoubted masterpiece, telling a disturbing, yet strangely inspiring story of multiple betrayals, gruesome murder and ultimate, if unlikely, forgiveness.

This production of Janáček's Jenůfa comes from the Zurich Opera House in Switzerland. Soprano Kristine Opolais stars in the title role, with soprano Michaela Martens as Jenufa's stepmother Kostelnicka. The performance is led by conductor Fabio Luisi, in his first production as the Zurich Opera's new music director.


Conductor: Fabio Luisi

Jenůfa: Kristine Opolais (soprano)

Kostelnicka: Michaela Martens (soprano)

Laca: Christopher Ventris (tenor)

Steva: Pavol Breslik (tenor)

Grandmother Buryjovka: Hanna Schwarz (contralto)

Mill Foreman: Chayne Davidson (baritone)

Mayor: Lukas Jakobski (bass)

Karolka: Ivan Rusko (mezzo-soprano)

Mayor's Wife: Irene Friedli (mezzo-soprano)

Jano: Susanne Grossteiner

Zurich Opera House Orchestra and Chorus

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.