Baltimore Symphony Orchestra with Time for Three

« previous episode | next episode »

Monday, May 06, 2013

The Baltimore Symphony under the direction of Marin Alsop opens the 2013 Spring for Music festival with a program featuring Time for Three, a high-energy string trio that plays an assortment of bluegrass, jazz, folk and hybrid styles. They give the New York premiere of Jennifer Higdon’s Concerto 4-3, a work composed especially for them.

Also on the program are John Adams’ Shaker Loops, one of the composer’s most famous works, and Prokofiev's rarely performed Fourth Symphony.

Elliott Forrest and David Garland host.

Program Details:

John Adams: Shaker Loops
Jennifer Higdon: Concerto 4-3
   Time for Three, string trio (New York Premiere)


Sergei Prokofiev: Symphony No. 4 (1947 version)

Comments [5]

AF from Nassau County, Long Island

Thanks to the Baltimore Symphony and Marin Alsop, to Carnegie Hall, and to WQXR for bringing to radio and the internet this wonderful selection of works.

I for one am extrremely tired of the very conservative programming (or the too avant garde programming) of most concerts. This was a perfect combination of pieces!

The annual Spring for Music series is quite a treat! Looking forward to the other concerts in the series this year.

May. 07 2013 06:49 PM

Hi Delmar: yes, we expect all Spring for Music concerts will be archived. You can listen to Monday night's concert above.

May. 07 2013 12:48 PM
Delmar Williams

I am hoping all the Spring for Music shows will be archived. Will they?

May. 06 2013 10:47 PM
Molly Johnson from Oberlin, OH

Listening from Ohio to the live feed from WQXR, and to my daughter Lura Johnson, pianist in the Prokofiev.

May. 06 2013 10:07 PM
Sally Huse from Tiburon, CA

First time listening to a live feed on my iPad. This was possible tonight because my niece, Lura Johnson a pianist, who was performing in the Prokofiev, called me to tell me it was going to be on WQXR live. I live in California so it made for interesting cocktail hour music.

May. 06 2013 09:29 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.