Alan Gilbert, Christopher Rouse and Joshua Bell

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend
New York Philharmonic Music Director Alan Gilbert and MarieJosée Kravis Composer-in-Residence Christopher Rouse.

New York Philharmonic music director Alan Gilbert returns to the podium to conduct the world premiere of Prosepero’s Rooms, a New York Philharmonic commission by Christopher Rouse, the orchestra's composer-in-residence.

Also on the bill is Bernstein’s Serenade (after Plato’s “Symposium”) with violinist Joshua Bell as soloist. The broadcast concludes with Ives’s Fourth Symphony.

Program details:

Rouse: Prospero’s Rooms (world premiere, New York Philharmonic Commission)

Bernstein: Serenade (after Plato’s "Symposium")

Ives: Symphony No. 4