The Bach Variations: Bach and Mendelssohn

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend
Masaaki Suzuki.

Bach specialist Masaaki Suzuki looks to make New York Philharmonic sound like a period instrument ensemble. In this week's broadcast we hear his debut conducting the orchestra in an historically-informed interpretation of Bach’s motet Singet dem Herrn and Magnificat. Joining the orchestra are sopranos Sherezade Panthaki and Joélle Harvey, countertenor Iestyn Davies, tenor Nicholas Phan, baritone Tyler Duncan, the Bach Collegium Japan and Yale Schola Cantorum

Mendelssohn’s Christus and Magnificat round out the program, the first in the New York Philharmonic's The Bach Variations: A Philharmonic Festival.

Program details:

J.S. Bach: Singet dem Hern

J.S. Bach: Magnificat

Mendelssohn: Christus

Mendelssohn: Magnificat in D major