Wagner's Das Rheingold from Covent Garden

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

Das Rheingold gets Richard Wagner's monumental Ring Cycle off to a rousing start, in a quickly-paced drama introducing a fanciful world of vivid characters and world-shaping passions.

This production of Das Rheingold — which the composer called the "Preliminary Evening" of his Ring Cycle — comes from the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, in London. The stars are bass-baritone Bryn Terfel and baritone Wolfgang Koch as the god Wotan and the Nibelung Alberich,respectively, whose vengeful anger sets the entire story of the Ring in motion, in a production led by conductor Antonio Pappano.


Conductor: Antonio Pappano

Wotan: Bryn Terfel (bass-baritone)

Alberich: Wolfgang Koch (baritone)

Fricka: Sarah Connolly (mezzo-soprano)

Loge: Stig Andersen (tenor) 

Fafner: Eric Halfvarson (bass)

Fasolt: Iain Paterson (bass)

Freia: Ann Petersen (soprano)

Erda: Maria Radner (mezzo-soprano)

Woglinde: Nadine Livingston (soprano)

Wellgunde: Kai Rüütel (soprano)

Flosshilde: Harriet Williams (mezzo-soprano)

Donner: Peter Coleman-Wright (bass-baritone)

Froh: Andrew Rees (tenor)

Mime: Gerhard Siegel (tenor)

Royal Opera House Orchestra and Chorus