At the Avery Fisher Career Grant Ceremony

« previous episode | next episode »

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Last week Bob Sherman hosted the Avery Fisher Career Grant Ceremonies at Lincoln Center’s Kaplan Penthouse. Established in 1974, the annual prize serves as a monument to the late Avery Fisher, who was devoted to helping young artists.

The 2013 recipients include: violinist Itamar Zorman, pianist Kuok-Wai Lio and violinist Bella Hristova. They all performed as part of the evening’s festivities. Other winners include the Escher String Quartet and pianist Andrew Tyson, who could not perform due to scheduling conflicts. 

Program details:

Johannes Brahms: Violin Sonata No. 3 in D Minor, Opus 108
— Itamar Zorman, violin; Kwan Yi, piano.

Leoš Janáček: V mlhách (In the Mists)
— Kuok-Wai Lio, piano.

John Corigliano: The Red Violin Caprices
Astor Piazzolla: Tango Etude No. 4
— Bella Hristova, violin.

George Gershwin (arr. J. Heifetz): “It Ain’t Necessarily So” from Porgy and Bess
— Bella Hristova, violin; Noreen Polera, piano.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.