The Knights Perform Bach, Britten and Stravinsky in Central Park

« previous episode | next episode »

Tuesday, July 30, 2013

The Knights return to the Naumburg Bandshell in Central Park on Tuesday, July 30, at 7:30 pm. Led by conductor Eric Jacobsen, the chamber orchestra will present a program rooted in Baroque styles and forms.

The first half contains instrumental works by J.S. Bach and C.P.E. Bach, as well as Stravinsky's Concerto in D from 1946. The latter work is in the fast-slow-fast format of the Baroque concerto grosso and contains Stravinsky's signature spiky rhythms and lyrical melodies.

The second half opens with Britten's Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings, settings of six poems by British poets on the subject of night. Tenor Nicholas Phan, oboist Adam Hollander and French horn player Michael P. Atkinson are the soloists. The concert ends with an original composition by members of the Knights, called ... the ground beneath our feet:

WQXR's Naomi Lewin hosts the live broadcast. Full audio will be posted pending approval by the artists.

Program details:

Nicholas Phan, tenor
Michael P. Atkinson, French horn
Adam Hollander, oboe
Johnny Gandelsman, violin

C.P.E. Bach: Sinfonia in C Major, WQ 182, No. 3
Stravinsky: Concerto in D
J.S. Bach: Concerto for Oboe and Violin in C Minor
Britten: Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings (with Phan)
The Knights: ... the ground beneath our feet (world premiere)

Hear more from Lewin's interviews with Nicholas Phan and Michael Atkinson.



The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.