Alan Gilbert, Wynton Marsalis and the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, June 13, 2013

New York Philharmonic Music Director Alan Gilbert takes the podium this week as part of "Gilbert’s Playlist," which showcases his varied interests, close collaborations and creative programming ideas. Gilbert leads the orchestra in Copland’s Clarinet Concerto, featuring acting principal clarinet Mark Nuccio, followed by Wynton Marsalis’s "Swing Symphony" featuring Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Marsalis.

The program opens with assistant conductor Case Scaglione leading the orchestra in Stravinsky’s "Ragtime" and Shostakovich’s "Tahiti Trot."

Program details:

Stravinsky: "Ragtime" for 11 Instruments

Shostakovich: "Tahiti Trot"

Copland: Clarinet Concerto

Marsalis: Symphony No. 3 "Swing Symphony"

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.