Colin Matthews Premiere and Prokofiev with Violinist Daniel Hope

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

Continuing Saturday, August 3 at 7 pmQ2 Music at the Proms presents decorated English composer Colin Matthews's Turning Point, commissioned in 2003 by the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, and presented here in its UK premiere by conductor Thomas Sønderrgåd and the BBC National Orchestra of Wales.

Also on the program, award-winning violinist Daniel Hope performs Sergei Prokofiev's staggeringly virtuosic Violin Concerto No. 2; and Dmitri Shostakovich's Symphony No. 11, "The Year 1905" – a work written in the mid 1950s for the 50th anniversary of the October Revolution, the failed uprising of 1905. Despite a potentially controversial subtext, the symphony satisfied party authorities at the time, and was even awarded the Lenin Prize in 1958.  


Colin Matthews: Turning Point
Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2 in G Minor
Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No. 11, "The Year 1905"

Q2 Music at the Proms streams Saturdays at 7 pm from July 20 to September 9 on Q2 Music. On-demand audio will be available for 30 days after the initial webcast.