Summertime Classics

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

Bramwell Tovey conducts his second “Summertime Classics” concert this season at the New York Philharmonic. The program opens with John Adams’ Short Ride in a Fast Machine, one of two pieces in his Two Fanfares for Orchestra.

Next is “Ballet of the Snowflakes” from Jacques Offenbach’s French operetta Le Voyage dans la lune. Tovey will then lead one of Josef Strauss’ waltzes, Music of the Spheres. The program closes with Gustav Holst’s The Planets, an orchestral suite whose movements each represent and characterize a planet in the solar system.

This program was presented at Avery Fisher Hall earlier this month with a massive video display featuring imagery of the solar system.


Program details:

Adams: Short Ride in a Fast Machine

Offenbach: Ballet of the Snowflakes from Le Voyage dans la lune

Josef Strauss: Music of the Spheres

Holst: The Planets