Seattle Baroque Soloists

« previous episode | next episode »

Sunday, August 04, 2013

Seattle Baroque Soloists. Seattle Baroque Soloists.

The Seattle Baroque Soloists give an intimate tour of 17th century Venice and Rome, from Frescobaldi to Zipoli, culminating in two masterworks from Antonio Vivaldi’s Opus 1 sonatas. Also known the “Red Priest,” Vivaldi composed his first sonatas in 1703, the same year he was ordained. These sunny works include Vivaldi’s variations on a sort of Baroque pop tune, the Spanish theme called “La Follia.” 

The concert also features highlights from Vivaldi’s lesser-known Italian Baroque predecessors, including Rossi, Cavalli, Corelli, Picchi and Castello. Violinist Ingrid Matthews and harpsichordist Byron Schenkman, the founders of this early music ensemble, are joined by violinist Tekla Cunningham, cellist Nathan Whittaker, and lutenist John Lenti, who also plays a six-foot-long theorbo.

Program details:

Girolamo Frescobaldi: Canzona “La Lanciona” for two violins, cello, and continuo
Girolamo Frescobaldi: Canzona “La Lamberta” for two violins, cello, and continuo
Salamone Rossi: Sonata sopra L’Aria di Ruggiero for two violins and continuo
Salamone Rossi: Sonata “La Moderna” for two violins and continuo
Salamone Rossi: Sonata sopra la Bergamasca for two violins and continuo
Francesco Cavalli: Canzon a 3 for two violins, cello, and continuo
Dario Castello: Sonata I for violin and continuo
Giovanni Picchi: Toccata for harpsichord
Dario Castello: Sonata II for violin and continuo
— Seattle Baroque Soloists.

Morton Gould: Boogie Woogie Etude
— Benjamin Grosvenor, piano.

JS Bach: Prelude from Cello Suite No.1
— Goran Sollscher, guitar.

Mozart: Allegro from String Trio
— Kandinsky String Trio.

Domenico Zipoli: Partite in A minor for harpsichord
Arcangelo Corelli: Sonata in D Major, Op.5 No.1 for violin and continuo
Antonio Vivaldi: Sonata in G minor, Op.1 No.1 for two violins and continuo
Antonio Vivaldi: Sonata in D minor, Op.1 No.12 “La Folia” for two violins and continuo
Tarquinio Merula: Chaconne (encore)
— Seattle Baroque Soloists.

Excerpt of Mozart Violin Sonata No. 24
— Vilde Frang, violin.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.