Vilde Frang Makes Frick Collection Debut

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

This week, 26-year-old Norwegian violinist Vilde Frang makes her debut at The Frick Collection, accompanied by Uzbek pianist Michail Lifits. Frang and Lifits bring an exciting program, including the ever-challenging Prokofiev Violin Sonata No. 2, originally written for flute, then rewritten for the great violinist David Oistrakh. Frang performs this on her newly acquired 1709 Stradivarius violin. On the first half, Frang performs Mozart and Faure on a 19th century French violin made by Jean-Baptiste Vuillaume.

One of Europe’s promising young talents since her debut with the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra at age 12, Frang has recently appeared as a soloist with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, the Orchestre de Paris and with the Vienna Philharmonic at the Lucerne Summer Music Festival. She was unanimously awarded the Credit Suisse Young Artist Award in 2012.

Lifits has won numerous prizes from international piano competitions such as Ferruccio Busoni, Monza and Treviso. Lifits maintains an active solo career, which has taken him to Lincoln Center and Carnegie Hall, among many other performance venues around the world.

Program details:

Mozart: Sonata No.24 in F Major, K.376
Faure: Sonata No.1 in A Major, Op.13
— Vilde Frang, violin; Michail Lifits, piano.

JS Bach: Sarabande from Cello Suite No.2 in D minor
— Goran Sollscher, guitar.

Schumann: Excerpts from Symphonic Etudes
— Martin Helmchen, piano.

Jean-Philippe Rameau: Suite from Les Indes galantes
— The Aulos Ensemble.

Brahms: Three Selections from "21 Hungarian Dances"
No. 11 in D minor (arr. Joseph Joachim)
No. 17 in F-sharp minor (arr. Fritz Kreisler)
No. 2 in D minor (arr. Paul Klengel)
Prokofiev: Sonata in D Major, Op.94, No.2
Manuel Ponce: Estrellita (encore)
— Vilde Frang, violin; Michail Lifits, piano.

Chopin: Excerpts from mazurkas and waltzes
— Janina Fialkowska, piano.