Pianist Janina Fialkowska Returns to New York

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend
Pianist Janina Fialkowska.

Canadian pianist Janina Fialkowska gives a varied solo recital at The Frick Collection. A longtime presence in the music world, Fialkowska has performed with nearly every leading orchestra in North America, as well as ensembles on other continents, such as the London, Israel and Hong Kong Philharmonics.

A prize-winner at Radio Canada’s National Talent Festival and Arthur Rubenstein’s inaugural Master Piano Competition, as well as many others, she was the subject of an award-winning documentary called "The World of Janina Fialkowska."

In 2002, Fialkowska’s career was put on hold as she was diagnosed with shoulder cancer. In 2010, she returned to performing a full concert schedule and this concert marks Fialkowska’s return to the New York stage.

Known particularly for her interpretations of Chopin, Fialkowska performs two waltzes, two mazurkas and a scherzo.

Program details:

Edvard Grieg: Lyric Pieces
Arietta, Op. 12, No. 1
Butterfly (Sommerfugl), Op. 43, No. 1
Notturno, Op. 54, No. 3 (1891)
The Brooklet (Baekken), Op. 62, No. 4
March of the Trolls (Trolltog), Op. 54, No. 3
Remembrances (Etterklang), Op. 71, No. 7
— Janina Fialkowska, piano.

Franz Schubert: Four Impromtus, D. 935, Op. Posth. 142
— Janina Fialkowska, piano.

Joseph Fiala Quartet in F Major for Oboe and Strings, No. 2
— Adaskin Trio; Tom Gallante, oboe.

Anton Webern Langsamer Satz
— Quarteto Quiroga.

Frédéric Chopin: Waltz in E Minor, Op. Posth.
Frédéric Chopin: Waltz in A-Flat Major, Op. 64, No. 3
Frédéric Chopin: Mazurka in C Major, Op. 56, No. 2
Frédéric Chopin: Mazurka in C Minor, Op. 56, No. 3
Frédéric Chopin: Scherzo No. 1 in B Minor, Op. 20
Frédéric Chopin:  Waltz in C Sharp minor (encore)
— Janina Fialkowska, piano.

Franz Schubert: "Death and the Maiden"
— Bennewitz String Quartet