Bennewitz String Quartet Plays Schubert, Bartok and Mozart

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend
Bennewitz String Quartet.

The Bennewitz String Quartet travels to The Frick Collection for its New York debut. Named after the celebrated Czech violinist Antonin Bennewitz, the quartet takes pride in its roots, playing pieces by little-known Czech composers, like Olga Jezková and Slavomír Horinka, in addition to the standard repertoire.

The Bennewitz showcases three staples of the string quartet canon at The Frick Collection: Mozart’s “The Hunt,” Bartok Quartet No.3 and Schubert’s “The Death and the Maiden.”

Program details: (pieces performed by Bennewitz String Quartet unless otherwise noted)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Quartet in B-Flat Major, K. 458, “The Hunt” 

Béla Bartók: Quartet No. 3

Gabriel Faure Nocturne No. 6 in D-Flat Major (performed by pianist Roland Pontinen)                      

Franz Schubert: Quartet in D Minor, D. 810, “Death and the Maiden”

Antonin Dvorak: “Dumky Trio” (performed by Smetana Piano Trio)