Asian Horizons in Hanoi, Vietnam

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

The New York Philharmonic performed in Vietnam for the first time last October as part of the orchestra’s Asian Horizons tour. That appearance is the subject of this week’s broadcast.

Appearing at the French-colonial-era Hanoi Opera House under the baton of Alan Gilbert, the orchestra presented a trio of works by Beethoven: the Piano Concerto No. 4 (with soloist Emanuel Ax), the Symphony No. 7 and the Egmont Overture. The visit carried considerable significance: the program opened with the national anthems of both the U.S. and Vietnam, and the entire performance was broadcast on two giant screens that flanked the outside of the concert hall.

Program Details:

Alan Gilbert, conductor
Emanuel Ax, piano

Van Cao                Quoc Ca (Vietnam National Anthem)                       
J.S. Smith             The Star-Spangled Banner                        
Beethoven             Piano Concerto No. 4       
Beethoven             Symphony No. 7  
Beethoven             Egmont Overture  (encore)        
Mendelssohn Scherzo from Octet for Strings, arr. for orchestra  (encore)

Watch videos from the Philharmonic's Hanoi visit