Trpčeski Plays Rachmaninoff

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

The 49-year-old Dutch conductor Jaap van Zweden is not yet a household name in the U.S. but that's starting to change. A former concertmaster of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra who took up conducting in the 1990s, he is now entering his third season as music director of the Dallas Symphony. In this week's broadcast from the Los Angeles Philharmonic, he demonstrates his artistic range and kinetic conducting style in a varied program. 

The concert leads off with the muscular Cyrano de Bergerac overture by his countryman, Johan Wagenaar. The Macedonian pianist Simon Trpčeski is the soloist in Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto. No. 1, a work that gets short shrift in comparison to the composer's Second and Third Concertos. The program rounds out with the Brahms Fourth Symphony.

Program details:

Conductor: Jaap van Zweden

Soloist: Simon Trpčeski, piano


Johan Wagenaar - Cyrano de Begerac Overture
Sergei Rachmaninoff - Piano Concerto No. 1
Johannes Brahms - Symphony No. 4