Joshua Bell, Mozart and Brahms

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

This week's broadcast from the New York Philharmonic features a heavily Germanic program with a touch of the Scottish. Violinist Joshua Bell brings his singing tone and intense lyricism to Max Bruch's Scottish Fantasy, a four-movement work built on several Scottish folk tunes.

Mozart's Symphony No. 31 evokes another place entirely. Subtitled Paris, it was written for the Paris Orchestra, with its famed string and clarinet sections. The concert concludes with Brahms' Symphony No. 4, a work that reaches back to Bach in its use of Baroque counterpoint and techniques like the passacaglia. Antonio Pappano, a noted opera conductor, leads this performance.


Mozart: Symphony No. 31, Paris

Bruch: Scottish Fantasy

Brahms: Symphony No. 4

Antonio Pappano, conuductor

Joshua Bell, violin

More details on this program