Yefim Bronfman plays Prokofiev

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

Earlier this year, the New York Philharmonic made its first European tour under music director Alan Gilbert. Taking place halfway through his inaugural season as Music Director, it included this performance at the Philharmonic in Cologne, Germany.

Two great Romantic works anchor the program: Sibelius’s Symphony No. 2 and Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 2 (with soloist Yefim Bronfman). The evening opens with the European premiere of Expo, a 10-minute curtain-raiser by the Philharmonic's composer-in-residence Magnus Lindberg.

Program details:

Magnus Lindberg: EXPO  (New York Philharmonic Commission)

Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 2

Sibelius: Symphony No. 2

Alan Gilbert, conductor

Yefim Bronfman, piano