The Szymanowski Quartet

Email a Friend

On this Concert from the Frick Collection, the Szymanowski Quartet play works by Haydn, Shostakovich, Beethoven and of course, Szymanowski. In his review of this concert, New York Times critic Bernard Holland said, "it was hard not to fall in love with the Szymanowski Quartet ... all professionals perform with intensity, but playing from the heart is another matter."

Read the full review

Quartet in G major, Opus 77, No. 1, by Franz Josef Haydn
Quartet No. 8 in C minor, Opus 110, Dmitri Shostakovich
Nocturne and Tarantella, Opus 28, Karol Szymanowski
Quartet in G major, Opus 18, No. 2, Ludwig van Beethoven