The Russian Stravinsky VI: Gergiev & The Rite of Spring

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, May 13, 2010

The New York Philharmonic three-week Stravinsky festival culminates with a program featuring the composer’s ballet The Rite of Spring

An evocation of pagan rituals surrounding a human sacrifice, the explosive score caused a riot at its Paris premiere back in 1913. You won’t find that tonight, but it is a signature piece for Valery Gergiev, the Russian conductor who brings a raw, wild edge to the pounding rhythms and pronounced dissonances. Opening the program is the Symphony in Three Movements, a 1945 piece that is colored by the violence of wartime. In between these masterworks, Philharmonic offers the more placid Concerto for Piano and Wind Instruments, with soloist Alexei Volodin.


Stravinsky: Symphony in Three Movements  

Stravinsky: Concerto for Piano and Wind Instruments  

Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring

Valery Gergiev, conductor

Alexei Volodin, piano

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.