Enescu 2.0

Guest Blogger: Lucian Ban

Monday, October 19, 2009 - 06:28 PM

Lucian Ban at the Jazz StandardJazz pianist and composer Lucian Ban hails from Cluj, Transylvania, Romania, but currently lives in New York City where is part of the next generation of performers and composers at the forefront of modern jazz. He tells the story of his upcoming project ENESCU re-IMAGINED at Merkin Hall.

Octet inspired by Enescu's Double String Quartet, op. 7.


Aria, inspired by his Aria et Scherzino for violin, viola, cello, bass and piano.


Lucian Ban, Guest Blogger

Here are a few more mp3s from the September world premiere of ENESCU re-IMAGINED in Europe. For the listing of players and photos from the concert, you can see my last post here.

The ENESCU re-IMAGINED concert aims to shed a new light on the diversity of  Enescu's works, including little- known, unfinished pieces.

I hope I will have the chance to say more in a later post, but for now I'm happy to welcome everybody to this unique project and to encourage you to check back here later for my post-concert reactions.

More in:

Comments [1]

Sanyi from Brooklyn NY

Finally, Enescu makes it in America, he is reborn in the body of modern Jazz, a little bit insane, blind,
and without the limbs, but it's ENESCU !!!! As they say it in Romania, "tot inainte tovarasi, pina ce globalismul mondial se va succede si in muzica !"

Oct. 21 2009 11:47 AM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Follow WQXR 







About WQXR Blog

Read WQXR's coverage of classical music news, trends, commentary and more here at the WQXR Blog.