Gergiev Conducts Stravinsky

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

On May 5, the New York Philharmonic performed its 15,000th concert, a milestone unmatched by any other symphony orchestra in the world. This week’s broadcast captures that program, including the fifth installment of the orchestra’s three-week festival, "The Russian Stravinsky." 

Conductor Valery Gergiev leads performances of Stravinsky’s Symphony in C, an alternately brash and pastoral work, his Capriccio for Piano and Orchestra, a quasi-concerto with soloist Denis Matsuev and Petrushka, the ballet music whose score was composed in 1911. The composer’s presence is fitting: he made his American debut as a performer, 85 years ago, conducting the Philharmonic.

Program details:

Stravinsky: Symphony in C

Stravinsky: Capriccio for Piano and Orchestra

Stravinsky: Petrushka (1911 original version)

Valery Gergiev, conductor

Denis Matsuev, piano

More program details