Violist Helen Callus and Pianist Phillip Bush

« previous episode | next episode »

Sunday, July 04, 2010

Acclaimed British violist Helen Callus not only plumbs the potential of an instrument beloved for its eloquence, she also seeks out new ways to expand its reach. This week on Saint Paul Sunday she joins pianist Phillip Bush for music that explores the viola to the fullest. Along with music of Brahms and Prokofiev, she brings us music of two little-known composers with whom she shares a great deal.

Female at a time when British composers were almost exclusively men, Rebecca Clarke and Pamela Harrison each carved out wonderful new terrain for the viola. Ms. Callus takes us through it with the passion of a fellow-traveler.

Music on the Program:

Johannes Brahms: FAE Sonata

Traditional Scottish (arr. Rebecca Clarke): I’ll Bid My Heart Be Still

Rebecca Clarke: Morpheus

Sergei Prokofiev (arr. Vadim Borrisowsky): Six Pieces from the Ballet Romeo and Juliet

      —I. Introduction

      —III. Young Juliet

      —IV. Dance of the Nights

      —V. Balcony Scene

      —VI. Mercucio

Pamela Harrison: Viola Sonata (1946)

      —III. Andante affettuoso

Comments [6]


WQXR is licensed in Newark, NJ. We’re trying to honor our FCC requirement to offer public service broadcasts that focus on Newark and NJ by carrying Reporter’s Roundtable, a weekly survey of issues affecting New Jersey. NJN has graciously agreed to let us carry the show.

Jul. 12 2010 01:47 PM
John Rousmaniere from Manhattan

Early Sunday morning in my house used to be the best time for a little quiet and classical music. No longer. What is the reason for New Jersey News then and there??

From a very disappointed listener and donor.

Jul. 11 2010 09:14 AM


You can listen to past episodes of Saint Paul Sunday on their website. Here's this past week's episode:

Jul. 06 2010 11:29 AM

No "Saint Paul Sunday" -- not this morning, not tonight. Wonder when and where I'll hear it next week?
I so miss listening to it at 7:00am on Sunday on WNYC=FM. Sunday nights isn't quite the same thing.
So disappointing...

Jul. 04 2010 10:03 PM


Saint Paul Sunday hasn't been replaced, it just moved. It now airs Sundays at 9PM.

Jul. 01 2010 03:47 PM
Lawrence Geary from Branchburg, NJ

It looks like this will be the last Saint Paul Sunday, and the program will be replaced in part by NJN News. WHAT? WQXR is for Classical Music. We do not want it to go the way of WNYC and turn into a news/talk station. This could be the first bad step of many. We do not want this change.

Jul. 01 2010 11:41 AM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.