Orpheus Chamber Orchestra Live from Carnegie Hall with Vadim Gluzman

« previous episode | next episode »

Saturday, January 29, 2011

WQXR brings you a live broadcast of the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra from Carnegie Hall on Saturday, January 29 at 8pm. Israeli violinist Vadim Gluzman joins Orpheus for the first time in a performance of Prokofiev’s hauntingly beautiful Violin Concerto No. 2. Polish composer Krzysztof Penderecki’s dark and romantic Serenade brings a distinctive Eastern-European flavor to the program, which also includes a Schumann overture and Brahms’ Serenade No. 2 in A major.

Program Details

Robert Schumann - Overture to Hermann and Dorothea, Op. 136

Sergei Prokofiev - Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 63

Krzysztof Penderecki - Serenade

Johannes Brahms - Serenade No. 2 in A major, Op. 16


Hear Vadim Gluzman play his 1690 Stradivari violin in a 2008 episode of Concerts from the Frick.


Comments [1]

David Kramer

Penderecki wrote the music for the Polish Film "Katyn" (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0879843/fullcredits#cast) and other films as well:


Jan. 29 2011 09:19 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.