Augustin Hadelich and Rohan De Silva

Email a Friend

Violinist Augustin Hadelich won of the 2009 Avery Fisher Career Grant and was gold medalist at the 2006 International Violin Competition of Indianapolis. Mr. Hadelich was given the use for four years of the 1683 ex-Gingold Stradivarius violin as part of the prize.

Born in Italy in 1984, Mr. Hadelich has a diploma from the Istituto Mascagni in Livorno, Italy, as well as a graduate diploma and Artist Diploma from The Juilliard School. He has performed as soloist with orchestras across the United States, Germany, South Africa, Switzerland, France, Hungary and Japan.  He has also given solo recitals in many of those countries.  In 2008 he made his recording debut for Naxos, performing the complete violin concerti of Haydn with the Cologne Chamber Orchestra. A compact disc of masterworks for solo violin will be released this year by AVIE, as well as a second disc for Naxos of Telemann’s complete Fantasies for Solo Violin. 

Pianist Rohan de Silva has partnered with many noted violinists, including Cho-Liang Lin, Midori, Joshua Bell, Vadim Repin, Julian Rachlin and Itzhak Perlman. Mr. Perlman and Mr. De Silva performed at the White House at the State Dinner for Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II in 2007. He has also participated in festivals in the United States, Europe, Japan, and New Zealand, and in radio and television programs.  He studied first in his native Sri Lanka and then at The Royal Academy of Music in London. He received Bachelor and Master of Music degrees from The Juilliard School. In 1990 he was awarded the Best Accompanist prize at the International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow. Mr. De Silva is on the faculty of the Perlman Music Program on Long Island and at The Juilliard School.


Sonata No. 8 in G Major, Op. 30/1 (1803)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)

Allegro assai
Tempo di Minuetto, ma molto moderato e grazioso
Allegro vivace

Sonata No. 1 (1963)

Alfred Schnittke (1934–1998)

Allegretto scherzando-Allegro


Sonata for Solo Violin, No. 3 in D Minor (1924)

Eugène Ysaÿe (1858–1931)


Sonata No. 2 in D Major, Op. 94 (1944)

Sergei Prokofiev (1891–1953)

Carmen Fantasy, Op. 25 (1883)

Pablo de Sarasate (1844–1908)