Orpheus Chamber Orchestra Season Opener Live from Carnegie Hall

Email a Friend

WQXR brings you the season opening concert of the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, live from Carnegie Hall on Thursday, October 14 at 8 p.m. Internationally-recognized soloist Garrick Ohlsson will perform Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58. Works by Schubert and Berg round out the Germanic program. During intermission, the winners of Project 440, Orpheus's innovative new commissioning contest, will be announced live from the stage.

Garrick Ohlsson ((c) Kacper Pempel)

Garrick OhlssonProgram

Franz Schubert
Symphony No. 4

Alban Berg
Lyric Suite (arr. for chamber orchestra)

Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Concerto No. 4 in G Major

Orpheus Chamber Orchestra opens the program with Schubert's Symphony No. 4 at Carnegie Hall.

( Elizabeth Zagroba/WQXR )

Orpheus continues with Berg's Lyric Suite.

( Elizabeth Zagroba/WQXR )

The stage is set for the second half of the program as the winners for Project 440 are announced on the air.

( Elizabeth Zagroba/WQXR )

Garrick Ohlsson's delicate fingerwork compliments Orpheus in Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 4 in G Major.

( Elizabeth Zagroba/WQXR )

The crowd's rousing ovation brings Ohlsson back to the stage for an encore Chopin's Waltz No. 7 in C-sharp minor.

( Elizabeth Zagroba/WQXR )