American Minimalists

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, September 09, 2010

Philip Glass Philip Glass ({Giorgio Constantine}/flickr)

As ViolinFest continues on WQXR, Symphony Hall this week is featuring works written exclusively for strings. Tonight we spotlight two American composers who made their names as minimalists. The program begins with John Adams's Shaker Loops, 1978 work originally written for string septet and later expanded into a version for full orchestra. Also featured is Philip Glass's Symphony No. 3, a 1995 piece composed for the 19 string players of the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra, and designed to treat every musician as a soloist.

Program Details

John Adams - Shaker Loops
Philip Glass - Symphony No. 3

Comments [2]

Thanks for bringing these dynamics to 105.9. A while ago, you aired the Glass No. 8. I don't forget.

Sep. 10 2010 04:19 PM
Nancy deKoven from Westchester

The Adams was bad enough, but to follow it up with the Glass? I turn the station off!

Sep. 09 2010 08:30 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.