Manhattan Bridge

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

Wynton Marsalis is a leading American jazz musician and international treasure, but the story doesn't end there. His efforts to bridge and collaborate with the classical world only scratches the surface of his inclusive and open attitude.

There has been much excitement about his recent Symphony No. 3, or Swing Symphony, co-commissioned by orchestras in New York, Berlin, Los Angeles and London, and when talking with Terrance McKnight about his inspiration, he had this to say about swing: "The philosophy of swing is that we come together and we stay together, even though we may not want's about the interplay of the people, the idea that I can be free and you can be free's the American philosophy that we can work stuff out together." (To listen to the full interview, click here.) It seems that for Marsalis, the very principal behind jazz is a model for living: "Jazz encourages us to tell our unique story and teaches us how to create a collective story with others. The music expresses the depth and power of our collective humanity...requirements for jazz are creativity, communication and community..."

This week, we're listening to Marsalis' Jubilo (The Scent of Democracy), from a ballet he composed titled Jazz. The work was a result of his first collaboration with the New York City Ballet, which lead to the commission of his first piece for symphony orchestra, performed in 1999. Also, music of Michio Miyagi, Peter Askim and Frederic Chopin.


Nocturne No. 17 in B, Op. 62/1
Frederic Chopin
Garrick Ohlsson, piano

Nocturne No. 17 in B, Op. 62/1
Frederic Chopin/Jacques Loussier
Jacques Loussier, piano

Haru No Umi (Sea in Spring)
Michio Miyagi
Anne Akiko Meyers, violin
Akira Eguchi, piano

Trio for Clarinet, Violin and Piano
Aram Khachaturian
Zodiac Trio

Nie ma czego potrzeba, Op 74/13 (Faded and vanished...)
Frederic Chopin
Claudie Verhaeghe, soprano
Jean Micault, piano

Prelude & Fugue No. 20 in A minor BWV 889
Johann Sebastian Bach
Edward Aldwell, piano

Memories of Lincoln
William H. Neidlinger
Thomas Hampson, baritone
Craig Rutenberg, piano

A House is Not a Home
Burt Bacharach
Anthony Coleman, keyboards, trombone, vocals
Doug Wieselman, clarinet
jim Pugliese, percussion, trumpet

Concerto for Recorder, String Orchestra, Celeste and Vibraphone, Op.122
Vagn Holmboe
Michala Petri, recorder
Okko Kamu, conductor
English Chamber Orchestra

Jubilo (The Scent of Democracy)
Wynton Marsalis
Wynton Marsalis, trumpet
Robert Sadin, conductor
Lincoln Center Jazz Orchestra

Concerto for Double Bass and String Orchestra
Peter Askim
Peter Askim, double bass
Ransom Wilson, conductor

Edgar Meyer
Edgar Meyer, bass

Ballade No. 2 in F, Op. 38
Frederic Chopin
Freddy Kempf, piano

throne built for the past
Caleb Burhans, electric violin, voice
Grey McMurray, electric guitar