Mozart, Wagner and a Virtuoso Trumpet Concerto

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, September 30, 2010

Alan Gilbert, Music Director Alan Gilbert, Music Director (Hayley Sparks)

On this week's broadcast from the New York Philharmonic, Alan Gilbert draws out links between three disparate composers: Mozart, Wagner and H.K. Gruber, the Austrian composer best known for his theatrical piece Frankenstein!! 

The virtuoso trumpet soloist Håkan Hardenberger joins the orchestra in the jazz-inflected trumpet concerto by the latter composer. The piece actually features three instruments: a trumpet, a piccolo trumpet and a cow’s horn, each of which becomes a vehicle for Hardenberger's virtuosity. Also on tap is the "Little" G Minor Symphony of Mozart and two Wagner hits: the Prelude and Liebestod, from Tristan und Isolde and Siegfried Idyll.


Program details:

Alan Gilbert, conductor

Håkan Hardenberger, trumpet*

WAGNER Siegfried Idyll


MOZART Symphony No. 25

WAGNER Prelude and Liebestod, from Tristan und Isolde

Comments [2]

Kenneth Bennett Lane, Lake Hiawatha, NJ from

Maestro Alan Gilbert is an enterprising, versatile musician who sees possibilities to engage the interest and entertainment of potential audiences.
As a composer myself, I sense the possibilities, now more than ever, to apply what is the "given" and "invent" new music that may have an outreach beyond the so-called classical market. Kudos to Maestro Gilbert !!! Kenneth Bennett Lane, Wagnerian heldentenor and director, the Richard Wagner Music Drama Institute.

Sep. 30 2010 12:01 PM
Sid Loeb

Just love the way you describe the Wagner selections as "two Wagner hits." It's true, they certainly are hits, though the serious Wagnerite wouldn't want to call them that, nevertheless old Wagner wrote many hits for us to enjoy.Who'd have thought.

Sep. 30 2010 10:16 AM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.