Live: Alarm Will Sound Unveils a Musical 'Permanent Collection'

Email a Friend

On Friday, October 11 at 7 pm, Q2 Music presented a live audio webcast of "The Permanent Collection" – music of Thomas Adès, György Ligeti, Richard Wagner and Charles Ives performed by the trailblazing new-music ensemble Alarm Will Sound.

A departure for an ensemble that specializes in emerging repertoire from living composers, this program is intended to reflect on how their own permanent collection would look and sound. It is the first in a series of four eclectic programs as part of their 2013-2014 residency at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. 

The concert takes places at the Met Museum's Grace Rainey Rogers Auditorium.

Program Details:

Richard Wagner: Siegfried Idyll
Thomas Adès: Living Toys
Charles Ives: Ragtime Dances No. 1 and No. 4
György Ligeti: Chamber Concerto 

Alarm Will Sound; Alan Pierson, conductor

This concert was engineered by George Wellington (technical director), Damon Whittemore (music mix), Noriko Okabe and Chase Culpon.