American Solo Piano

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

On this edition of Reflections from the Keyboard, David Dubal brings an All-American solo piano program to the Thanksgiving Table.

This episode dips into a great deal of American piano music in a variety of styles. From the War of Independence, Alexander Reinagle's and James Hewitt's pieces capture the patriotism our nation is so proud to hold dear.

Evoking the Civil War, we hear Louis Moreau Gottschalk's Manchega, when for an American household was not a home without its piano. Three women composers make an appearance, as well: Amy Beach, Lynn Kurtz and Ruth Crawford.

Set alongside a Samuel Barber excursion, there's small helping of America’s finest impressionist tone painter, Charles Tomlinson Griffes. And to finish things off, a small tribute for the 90th birthday of Ned Rorem, as well as two composers from the Gilded Age -  MacDowell and Gershwin.



Alexander Reinagle:

Sonata in E Major: Third Movement

Stanley Waldoff

Self - Released


Aaron Copland:

Piano Sonata: Vivace

Leon Fleisher



Ruth Crawford:

Study in Mixed Accents

Joseph Bloch

CRI American Masters


Lynn Kurtz:

In D for Piano: Dance

Andrew Eitel

Self - Released


Ned Rorem:

Piano Sonata No. 2: Nocturne

Julius Katchen



Samuel Barber:

Excursions, Op. 20: iv. Allegro molto

Leon Bates

Rile Arts


Vladimir "Vernon Duke" Dukelsky:

Caprice No. 2

Scott Holden

Tantara Records


Charles Tomlinson Griffes:

The Night Winds from Three Tone-Pictures, Op. 5

Denver Oldham

New World Records


Leo Ornstein:

Arabesques, Op. 42: Echo Primitif/Primal Echo

Marthanne Verbit

Albany Records


James Hewitt:

Yankee Doodle with Variations

David Dubal

Self - Released


Louis Moreau Gottschalk:

Manchega, Etude de concert, Op. 38

Cecile Licad



Edward MacDowell:

Woodland Sketches, op. 51: 1, To a wild rose

Alan Mandel

Phoenix PHCD 148


Amy Beach:


Alan Feinberg



Edward MacDowell:


Alan Feinberg



George Gershwin:

Prelude II: Andante con moto e poco rubato

Oscar Levant



George Gershwin:

Gershwin Songbook - Swanee; I Got Rhythm

André Watts