Auryn Quartet Plays Mozart and Ravel

« previous episode | next episode »

Monday, July 06, 2015

Auryn Quartett. Auryn Quartett. (Manfred Esser)

Founded in 1981, the Cologne-based Auryn Quartet has worked extensively with the Amadeus and Guarneri Quartets and with Claudio Abbado. In 1982, the group won first prize at the International String Quartet Competition in Portsmouth, England, and received other prizes in the Czech Republic and Germany. The Washington Post writes that, "its members interact with a sensitivity that seems almost telepathic."  

The Auryn Quartet have toured extensively throughout the world. This is their second appearance at the Frick Collection.

Radio program playlist:
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Quartet in B-Flat Major, KV 458, “The Hunt”
Maurice Ravel: Quartet in F Major

Online bonus:

Johannes Brahms: Quartet in C Minor, Opus 51, No. 1

Franz Joseph Haydn: Finale movement from the Quartet in D Major Opus 64 No. 5 "The Lark" (encore)

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.