Bach's Life and Pianistic Legacy

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

On the final episode of David Dubal’s exploration of J.S. Bach and the piano, we come to he end of the composer’s life and to his legacy — celebrating the human potential.

Although his health deteriorated as Bach aged, his output persisted. A painful operation on his eyes rendered him blind, but he dictated the remaining notes to his masterpiece, The Art of Fugue. After his death, Bach's music was slowly resurrected and revived in the concert hall.

Highlighted on the program this week is Samuel Feinberg, the first Russian pianist to perform both books of the Well-Tempered Clavier; Alicia De Larrocha in a performance of the Presto from the Italian Concerto; and an up-and-comer, Rexa Han, who bounces her way through the Gavottes I & II from Bach’s English Suite No. 6 in D minor.

Program playlist (all by J.S. Bach):

Well-Tempered Clavier Book I - Prelude & Fugue No. 9 in E Major
Evelyn Crochet, piano
Music & Arts Programs of America, Inc.

English Suite No. 6 in D minor -  Gavotte I & II
Rexa Han, piano
Concert Artists Guild

Partita No. 6 in E minor BWV 830 - I Tocatta
Piotr Anderszewski, piano
Virgin Classics

Italian Concerto in F, BWV 971  Presto
Alicia De Larrocha, piano

Concerto in D minor, BWV 1052  Allegro
Edwin Fischer, piano

Two-part Invention No. 2 in C minor
Andras Schiff, piano

Two-part Invention No. 7 in E minor
Andras Schiff, piano

Goldberg Var. 3 Canone all'Unisono a 1 Clav
Charles Rosen, piano
Sony Classical

Bach Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No.5 in F minor, BWV 1056, 1. Allegro
Glenn Gould, piano
Sony Classical

No.1 in C Major, BWV 846
Samuel Feinberg, piano
Russian Disc

English Suite No. 2 in A minor, BMV 807
Andras Schiff, piano

Two-part Invention No. 13 in A minor
Andras Schiff, piano