Bernard Haitink Conducts Mozart and Bruckner

« previous episode | next episode »

Tuesday, April 19, 2016

Till Fellner, pianist Till Fellner, pianist (Courtesy of the artist)

On Tuesday at 9 pm, Terrance McKnight hosts the sixth episode of WQXR's exclusive 12-part series with the Berlin Philharmonic, presenting recordings of live performance from the ensemble's concert hall. This installment features the Berlin debut of pianist Till Fellner, performing Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 25 alongside the venerable maestro, Bernard Haitink (whose relationship with the philharmonic spans more than 50 years). It is followed by a masterful rendition of Symphony No. 9 by Anton Bruckner, whose works Haitink has often presented with the Berlin musicians to great acclaim.

Program Playlist:

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 25 in C major, K. 503
Till Fellner, Piano

Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 9 in D minor

Also heard in this episode:

Franz Schubert: Symphony No. 5 in B-flat major, D. 485
Nikolaus Harnoncourt, conductor

The Berlin Philharmonic is offering WQXR listeners a two-day pass to its Digital Concert Hall by using the code "WQXR." Berlin Philharmonic recordings are available for sale on iTunes.

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.