Cambini Quartet Make Their New York Debut

« previous episode | next episode »

Monday, August 03, 2015

The period instrument group Quator Cambini Paris. The period instrument group Quator Cambini Paris. (Franck Juery-Naive)

This final episode this season's Concerts From The Frick Collection features the New York recital debut of Cambini Quartet, a Paris-based period instrument ensemble.

To differentiate themselves from the German-based Cambini Quartett München, the group is known in Europe as Quator Cambini Paris. This Cambini quartet perform on gut strings and bows that are hundreds of years old. In fact, the quartet performed this recital on 18th century bows borrowed earlier the same day from New York luthier Christophe Landon. Many period instrument musicians find that US customs regulations don’t allow traveling with ancient bows, which can contain small pieces of ivory, so the Cambini Quartet left their bows at home before their first tour of America.

Alongside works by Mozart, the Cambini Quartet makes it a point to highlight music by neglected French composers. In this recital, the group performed a an early quartet by the late 18th-century prodigy Hyacinthe Jadin. A published composer at age 9, and a celebrated keyboard virtuoso in his teenage years, Jadin's career was interrupted by the French Revolution and his life was tragically cut short at age 24 by tuberculosis.

On the second half of the program, you'll hear a late string quartet by mid-19th century French composer Félicien David. After a career in large-scale choral works and academia, David turned later in his life to Viennese-inspired chamber works.

The New York Times raved in a review of this recital, "This unaffected and gorgeous music deserves to be played — and should be grateful to find champions in this promising group."

Radio program playlist:
Hyacinthe Jadin: Quartet No. 1 in E-Flat Major, Op. 2, "Dissonance"
Mozart: Menuetto-Allegretto from Quartet No. 19 in C-Major, KV 465, “The Dissonances"
Félicien David: Quartet No. 1 in F Minor

Quator Cambini Paris: Julien Chauvin and Karine Crocquenoy, violin; Pierre-Éric Nimylowycz, viola; Atsushi Sakaï, cello.

Online bonus:

Mozart: Quartet No. 19 in C-Major, KV 465, “The Dissonances"

Mozart: Andante Cantabile from Quartet No.14 in G major, K.387 (encore)

Produced by:

Aaron Dalton

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.