Chamber Music Society in Saratoga, Part 1

« previous episode | next episode »

Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Paul Huang and Matthew Lipman are featured on the Young Artists Showcase. Paul Huang and Matthew Lipman are featured on the Young Artists Showcase. (Marco Borggreve/Jiyang Chen)

This week's showcase spotlights a pair of 2015 Avery Fisher Career Grant winners, violinist Paul Huang and violist Matthew Lipman, performing individually, as well as in chamber ensembles from the Saratoga Performing Arts Center. This is the first of two episodes featuring concerts from SPAC.

We'll first be introduced to Huang and Lipman in solo presentations from the WQXR broadcast of the Avery Fischer Career Grant ceremony from The Greene Space on March 18, 2015. Lipman, who plays a selection by Boccherini, has performed as a soloist with the Juilliard Orchestra, the Minnesota Orchestra and the Grand Rapids Symphony; and he has played recitals in halls, including Carnegie Hall, the Kennedy Center and Alice Tully Hall. Huang, who contributes a selection by Saint-Saëns, has performed with the Detroit Symphony, the Alabama Symphony and the National Taiwan Symphony Orchestra; and in venues including Alice Tully Hall, the Morgan Library and Museum and the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum.

Afterwards, they join members of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, during its three-week summer residency in Saratoga. Huang and Lipman first collaborate with Chamber Music Society co-directors, David Finckel and Wu Han, on Beethoven’s Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, before jumping into the first movement of Mendelssohn’s Octet.

Next week's showcase will present the remaining movements of the Mendelssohn Octet, as well as music by Schumann and Strauss, from the Saratoga Performing Arts Center. 

Program Playlist:

Boccherini (arr. Katims): Sonata No 6 in A Major, Movement 2
Matthew Lipman, viola; Henry Kramer, piano

Saint-Saëns: Violin Sonata No. 1, Op. 75 in D minor, Movement 4
Paul Huang, violin; Jessica Xylina Osborne, piano

Beethoven: Piano quartet in E flat Major, Op. 16
Wu Han, piano; Paul Huang, violin; Matthew Lipman, viola; David Finckel, cello

Mendelssohn Octet, Movement 1
Paul Huang, violin; Sean Lee, violin; Arnaud Sussman, violin; Danbi Um, violin; Mark Holloway, viola; Matthew Lipman, viola; David Finckel, cello; Paul Watkins, cello

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.