A Concerto Celebration, Part 2

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, September 15, 2016


This week on Reflections from the Keyboard, David Dubal continues his exploration of piano concertos, celebrating the great collaborations between virtuosic soloists and orchestras. This program features performances of movements from concertos by Mozart and Tchaikovsky, as well as the joyful finale of Schumann’s piano concerto in A minor — the only one he ever wrote.

Reflections from the Keyboard airs Thursdays at 8 pm and Sundays at 10 pm on WQXR.


Lipatti: Concertino en style classique, Allegro molto
--Dinu Lipatti, piano

Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 17 in G Major, Allegretto
--Rudolf Serkin, piano; London Symphony Orchestra

Bartók: Piano Concerto No. 2 in G Major, Allegro molto
--Géza Anda, piano; RSO Berlin

Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 2 in G Major, Allegro con fuoco
--Benno Moiseiwitsch, piano; Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Medtner: Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Minor
--Geoffrey Tozer, piano; The London Philharmonic

Schumann: Piano Concerto in A Minor, Allegro vivace
--Martha Argerich, piano; National Philharmonic Orchestra - Warsaw


Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.