Episode #8

Download: John Adams's Grooving String Quartet with Attacca Quartet

« previous episode | next episode »

Tuesday, May 03, 2016

Composer John Adams Composer John Adams (Don Lee)

Despite being one of relatively few chamber music pieces in his catalog, John Adams’s 2008 String Quartet stands among the composer’s most significant compositions and has been solidly adopted into the chamber-music canon.

This episode features a live performance of the titanic two-movement piece, performed live at Le Poisson Rouge by the Attacca Quartet. Joining Adams for his on-stage introduction of the piece are violinist Keiko Tokunaga and violist Luke Fleming of the Attacca Quartet. You’ll hear them recount the trial-by-fire circumstances of their first performance, the details of a late-night phone call and how to temper performance anxiety and just groove. 

This performance of John Adams's String Quartet by the Attacca Quartet features Amy Shroeder and Keiko Tokunaga on violin, Luke Fleming* on viola, and Andrew Yee on cello.

John Adams’s String Quartet was featured by permission from Boosey & Hawkes. Visit Boosey on the web at www.boosey.com.

*Luke Fleming has since left the quartet to assume the position of artistic director of the Manhattan Chamber Players.


John Adams, Luke Fleming and Keiko Tokunaga

Hosted by:

Conor Hanick

Produced by:

Curtis Macdonald


Alex Ambrose and Hannis Brown

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.