The End Of a Glorious Decade

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

The early years of the 20th century showcased daring stylistic differences and developments in piano music. Contributing to the wealth of new challenges in literature for the contemporary pianist, as well as for audiences, a few composers not just revolutionized music, but reinvented it.

On this finale episode exploring this "Glorious Decade," a few lesser-known composers are featured, including Amy Beach’s Valse Amoureuse played by Virginia Eskin; the middle movement of Sergei Bortkiewicz’s First Piano Concerto in B-flat major, Op. 16 played by Stephen Coombs; and Sergei Taneyev's Prelude and Fugue in G sharp minor, performed by Vladimir Ashkenazy.

Program playlist:

Edvard Grieg: Gibboen's Bridal March Op 72 no 1
Joseph Smith, piano
Musical Heritage Socitey

Edvard Grieg: Cow-call, op 66 No. 1
Joseph Smith, piano
Musical Heritage Socitey

Claude Debussy: La plus que lente (The Even Slower Waltz)
Van Cliburn, piano
RCA Victor

Percy Grainger: March-Jig (Maguire's Kick) No. 1
Percy Grainger, piano

Arnold Schoenberg: 3 Pinao Pieces Op11 - 1. Mässig
Paul Jacobs, piano

Arnold Schoenberg: 3 Piano Pieces Op11 - 3. Bewegt
Paul Jacobs, piano

Max Reger: Variations and Fugue on a Theme of JS Bach for Pno Op 81, No 16
Rudolf Serkin, piano
BBC Radio 3 Music

Amy Beach: Les reve de Colombine Op 65: Valse Amoureuse
Virginia Eskin, piano

Sergei Bortkiewicz: Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat major, op. 16 II. Andante sostenuto
Stephen Coombs, piano

Sergei Taneyev: Prelude and Fugue in G sharp minor, Op.29
Vladimir Ashkenazy, piano