'S Wonderful Gershwin

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

On this edition of Reflections from the Keyboard, we remember George Gershwin.

Gershwin (Sept. 26, 1898-July 11, 1937) took great pains to represent complex and powerful aspects of the American melting pot in his work. He was as comfortable in Carnegie Hall as he was in Harlem and Hollywood. An exhilarating pianist as well as a classical composer, he embodied the transfigured jazz age. Today, he is the most celebrated American composer for the canon and arguably the finest songwriter of his era.

On this week's program, host David Dubal features several fine piano transcriptions of Gershwin's work. Among them is Gershwin's good friend and pianist, Oscar Levant, performing the third movement of the Piano Concerto in F with the New York Philharmonic. Others include Gershwin specialists Earl Wild and Andre Watts as well as two recordings played by the master himself.


Variations on "I got rhythm" for Piano and Orchestra
— Earl Wild, piano; Arthur Fiedler, conductor; Boston Pops.

Prelude No 2 in C sharp minor, Andante con moto e poco rubato
— Leonard Bernstein, piano.

Preludes (3) for Piano
— George Gershwin, piano.

Concerto for Piano in F major: 2nd movement, Andante con moto - Adagio
— André Previn, piano; Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra.

Virtuoso Etudes after Gershwin: No 4, Embraceable you
— Earl Wild, piano.

— André Watts, piano.

Somebody Loves Me
— André Watts, piano.

Who Cares (so long as you care for me)?
— André Watts, piano.

I'll Build a Stairway to Paradise
— André Watts, piano.

The Man I Love
— André Watts, piano.

Nobody But You
— André Watts, piano.

Concerto for Piano in F major: 3rd movement, Allegro agitato
— Oscar Levant, piano; New York Philharmonic; Andre Kostelanetz, conductor.