Gilbert Conducts Ravel, Nielsen and Tchaikovsky

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, August 25, 2016

Tune in Thursday at 9 pm as Alan Gilbert leads the New York Philharmonic in a program featuring selections from Tchaikovsky's Swan Lake. Soloist Anthony McGill also performs Nielsen's Clarinet Concerto as part of the orchestra's Nielsen Project, honoring the Danish composer's 150th anniversary. The program begins with Ravel's suite, Valses nobles et sentimentales, based on two separate works by Franz Schubert: Valses Nobles and Valses Sentimentales.


Ravel: Valses nobles et sentimentales

Nielsen: Clarinet Concerto
Soloist: Anthony McGill, clarinet

Tchaikovsky: Selections from Swan Lake

Alan Gilbert, conductor 

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.