On-Demand Audio: Hilliard Ensemble's Farewell to New York Audiences

Email a Friend

On Wednesday, Jan. 22 at 7 pm, Q2 Music presented a live audio webcast of "Arkhangelos, A Millennium of Music" – a diverse, expansive program of vocal chamber music by England's celebrated Hilliard Ensemble.

Live from the Metropolitan Museum of Art's Temple of Dendur and hosted by WNYC's John Schaefer as part of New Sounds Live, the concert was also the New York appearance of the venerable quartet's 40th anniversary and farewell tour. The program featured music by Arvo Pärt, Alexander Raskatov, Vache Sharafyan and many other composers. Its title, "Arkhangelos," takes its name from a Greek Orthodox text set by British composer Ivan Moody for the ensemble.

Formed in 1974, the Hilliard Ensemble has become an unquestionable pillar of contemporary vocal music, through its landmark recordings on ECM and ceaseless championing of living composers, including Gavin Bryars, Unsuk Chin, Arvo Pärt, James MacMillan and more recently, Heiner Goebbels, Wolfgang Rihm and Nico Muhly. After 40 years of music-making, the ensemble will disband at the end of the concert season. 

The Hilliard Ensemble is countertenor David James, tenors Rogers Covey-Crump and Steven Harrold, and baritone Gordon Jones.

Complete Program

Anon. (13th century France): Vetus abit littera
Anon. (13th century France): Deus misertus
Sheryngham (circa 1500): Ah! Gentle Jesu
Katie Tchemberdji (b. 1960): Aus dem Psalm 69
Trad. Armenian, arr. Komitas (1869-1935): Sharakans
Ivan Moody (b. 1964): Arkhangelos
William Cornysh (1465-1523): Ave Maria Mater Dei
Arvo Part (b. 1935): Most Holy Mother of God
Vache Sharafyan (b. 1966): Lord who made the spring run
Alexander Raskatov (b. 1953): Praise 

Engineers: Edward Haber (technical director and mix), George Wellington, Rick Kwan