Olivier Cavé Tells the story of the Italian Pianoforte

Email a Friend
Pianist Olivier Cavé in Venice, Italy

Italian-Swiss pianist Olivier Cavé tells the story of the pianoforte, the basis of the modern piano, through Italian music of the 18th century.

It all started around in the early 1700s, when the Spanish royal court ordered three pianofortes. Inventor Bartolomeo Cristofori asked his friend Lodovico Giustini to compose sonatas to be played by the new instrument. German composer Johann Sebastian Bach transcribed Italian sonatas by Marcello and Vivaldi to the pianoforte, and in this program Olivier Cavé pairs those with sonatas by Clementi and Scarlatti.

Cavé performed on a modern piano for this concert, his New York recital debut. In a review of this performance, The New York Times praised his "full-blooded, rich sound on the bright-toned Fazioli."

Program Details:
Lodovico Giustini da Pistoia: Tempo di Balletto of the Sonata, No. 1, in G Minor from 12 Sonate da Cimbalo di Pianoforte, Op. 1*
Lodovico Giustini da Pistoia: Corrente of the Sonata, No. 7, in G Major from 12 Sonate da Cimbalo di Pianoforte, Op. 1*
J.S. Bach: Concerto in D Minor BWV 974, after Alessandro Marcello
Muzio Clementi: Sonata in G Minor, Op. 50, No. 3, “Didone Abbandonata – Scena tragica”
Muzio Clementi: Sonata in F Minor, Op. 13, No. 6*
J.S. Bach: Concerto in G Major BWV 973, after Antonio Vivaldi (Op. 7/2, RV 299)*
Domenico Scarlatti: Five Sonatas - K. 128, K. 45*, K. 239 "Fandango"*, K. 394*, and K. 39*
ENCORE: Isaac Albéniz: Asturias (Leyenda)*
 — Olivier Cavé, piano
* Included in edited radio program above. Full concert audio is below.