John Luther Adams’s Become Ocean Wins Pulitzer Prize for Music

AUDIO: Conductor Ludovic Morlot on 'Become Ocean'

Monday, April 14, 2014 - 03:00 PM

John Luther Adams’s Become Ocean has won the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for music. Commissioned and premiered by Seattle Symphony on June 20, 2013, the 42-minute score is described in the Pulitzer citation as “a haunting orchestral work that suggests a relentless tidal surge, evoking thoughts of melting polar ice and rising sea levels.”

Also in the running for the $10,000 prize were The Gospel According to the Other Mary, John Adams’s massive oratorio about the final period of Christ’s life; and Invisible Cities, Christopher Cerrone's opera based on the Italo Calvino fantasy novel.

The Seattle Symphony will perform Become Ocean on May 6 as part of the Spring for Music festival at Carnegie Hall. WQXR will broadcast the performance, with Ludovic Morlot on the podium.

Adams, an American composer known for music inspired by the landscapes and sounds of his adopted state of Alaska, has long been associated with his environmentalist concerns. The 61-year-old has composed works for various media including orchestras, chamber ensembles, solo voice, electronics, plus film and television. He is the author of Winter Music (2004), a collection of writings about his life and pursuits in Alaska.

"Music by John Luther Adams is really the sonic landscape of what the environment here is like," said Morlot in a recent interview with WQXR's Elliott Forrest. "You think of Alaska, you [also] think of those beautiful landscape settings of the Pacific Northwest." The piece calls for the orchestra to be divided into three parts on the stage – groups of strings, brass and woodwinds, each with its separate percussion group – which move together and apart and various points in the piece. 

The Pulitzer has a particularly topical thrust this year: It was announced just as the United Nations' panel on climate change was releasing a new report stating that major action is needed quickly if policymakers want to limit global warming to acceptable levels.

The jury for the prize consisted of Ara Guzelimian, provost and dean of the Juilliard School (chair); Justin Davidson, the classical music and architecture critic of New York Magazine; Jason Moran, the pianist and composer; Caroline Shaw, who won last year’s Pulitzer; and Julia Wolfe, composer and co-founder of Bang on a Can.

Listen to portions of the work below (with commentary):


More in:

Comments [3]

kim from new york

I have dowmloaded & uninstalled music ocean several times each time I download there is a virus attached I used to use this app on my old phone as so I wanted it on my new phone but always get a warning that there is a virus. If u fix this problem please let me know so I can saftley download it in my new phone thanks

Jul. 22 2014 04:26 PM
Jerry Dobson from University of Kansas

Adams exceptional composition makes a vital point. The earth has been "becoming ocean" ever since the dawn of humankind. Sea level rose 400 feet in the past 20,000 years as part of a "relentless tidal surge" that lowers oceans when ice sheets form and raises them when ice sheets melt. Oddly, we've never even named that vast millennial tide and its impacted land, equivalent to North America in size but all coastal, all flat, and mostly tropical. My upcoming article in Geographical Review suggests naming it "aquaterra" and exploring it as we would a lost continent. "Become Ocean" makes a fitting piece to inspire new thinking about human evolution and our timeless connections to the world ocean.

Apr. 15 2014 11:31 AM
concetta nardone from Nassau

Glad to see that not everyone is putting their head in the sand. I am 77 years old and yes indeed, something is happening. Some parts of the globe are getting colder and some are getting hotter, hot not warm. Many causes, population explosion, deforestation,volcanic ash, etc.etc.

Apr. 15 2014 07:23 AM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Follow WQXR 







About WQXR Blog

Read WQXR's coverage of classical music news, trends, commentary and more here at the WQXR Blog.