Kirill Petrenko Conducts Stravinsky, Stephan and Scriabin

« previous episode | next episode »

Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Kirill Petrenko, conductor Kirill Petrenko, conductor (Wilfried Hösl)

Last summer, the classical music world turned its attention to Berlin as its philharmonic elected a successor to current chief conductor, Sir Simon Rattle. The name that emerged: Kirill Petrenko. On the fifth installment of WQXR's exclusive series of live recordings, taped at the orchestra's Berlin home, you'll hear Petrenko lead the Philharmonic in a rousing program of Stravinsky, Stephan and Scriabin.

Rounding out the program, are Haydn's Symphony No. 89 and a preview of next week's episode, featuring pianist Till Fellner. Both are taken from separate performances of the Berlin Philharmonic. Terrance McKnight hosts.

Program Playlist:

Stravinsky: Symphony of Psalms
Rundfunkchor Berlin, chorus; Kaspars Putninš Chorus Master

Rudi Stephan: Music for violin and orchestra
Daniel Stabrawa, violin

Rudi Stephan: Music for Orchestra

Alexander Scriabin: La Poème de l'extase

Also heard in this episode:

Haydn: Symphony No. 89
Sir Simon Rattle, conductor

Bach: The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book I
Till Fellner, piano

The Berlin Philharmonic is offering WQXR listeners a two-day pass to its Digital Concert Hall by using the code "WQXR." Berlin Philharmonic recordings are available for sale on iTunes.

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.