Leonard Bernstein Conducts Mussorgsky, Borodin and Shostakovich

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

This week's New York Philharmonic broadcast features historic recordings of Leonard Bernstein conducting three Russian Romantic classics: Rimsky-Korsakov’s orchestration of Musorgsky's Prelude: "Dawn on the Moskva River" from Khovanshchina, Borodin’s In the Steppes of Central Asia, and Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 7, "Leningrad." The latter piece was a calling card of Bernstein's.

The Russian-themed program also includes Kurt Masur conducing Giya Kancheli’s And Farewell Goes Out Sighing... with violinist Gidon Kremer and countertenor Derek Lee Ragin as soloists.

Program details:

Mussorgsky: Prelude: "Dawn on the Moskva River," Khovanshchina

Kancheli: And Farewell Goes Out Sighing…

Borodin: In the Steppes of Central Asia

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7, "Leningrad"