Listen: Flanders Recorder Quartet Explores Complexities of the Instrument

« previous episode | next episode »

Monday, August 08, 2016

Flanders Recorder Quartet Flanders Recorder Quartet

Founded in 1987, the Flanders Recorder Quartet returned to the Frick Collection last winter, the first time in more than a decade, to present an evening of Renaissance and Baroque music. The musicians — Tom Beets, Paul Van Loey, Joris Van Goethem and Bart Spanhove — brought with them 40 recorders of different sizes for the concert. In between performances, the members explain why this instrument much more than "the ukulele of early music."

WQXR's Elliott Forrest hosts the program.


Hugh Ashton: Ashton’s Maske                                                                                           

Alexander Agricola: Magnificat secundi toni                                                                   

Tylman Susato: Suite
        Allemande VII
        Reprise Le Cueur est bon”
        Pavane “Mille Regretz”
        Ronde “Mon Amy chantant”

Anonymous: Danza alta “La Spagna”

Anonymous: Propiñan de Melyor

Joseph de Boismortier: Concerto for Flutes, Op. 15, VI

Henry Purcell: Chacony, Z. 730

Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto “L’estate,” First Movement

J.S. Bach: Passacaglia, BWV 582

Bach: Theme from Art of the Fugue
James V. Monaco: "You Made Me Love You (I Didn't Want to Do It)"

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.