On-Demand Audio: Krzysztof Penderecki at Symphony Space

Email a Friend

On Friday, Oct. 25 at 7:30 pm, Q2 Music presented a live audio webcast of music by iconic Polish composer Krzysztof Penderecki, who turns 80 this November. The performance featured Ensemble Pi, the Penderecki Quartet, members of the Yale School of Music, violist Matthew Lipman and cellist Jay Campbell from Symphony Space's Thalia Theater.

Hosted by Q2 Music's Helga Davis, the evening included on-stage interviews with Penderecki and featured musicians. 

Born in 1933 in Debica, Poland, Penderecki gained international notoriety for a complex, avant-garde musical language informed by tone clusters and graphic notation and for landmark works such as the Threnody to the Victims of Hiroshima and St. Luke Passion. His shift in the mid-1970s to a softer, more tonal language continues to divide some critics and listeners.

The program stretched from his tour-de-force Capriccio for solo cello of 1968 to his richly contrasting String Quartet No. 3, "Leaves from an Unwritten Diary" of 2008. 

The concert is presented as part of Symphony Space’s In the Salon series, in partnership with the Polish Cultural Institute. Engineers include Edward Haber (technical director), George Wellington (music mix) and Rick Kwan.

Program Details:

Cadenza (Matthew Lipman, viola)

String Quartet No. 3. "Leaves from an Unwritten Diary" (Penderecki Quartet)

Capriccio (Jay Campbell, cello)

Quartet for clarinet and strings (Eric Anderson, clarinet; Nathan Lesser, violin; Colin Brookes, viola; Alan Okhubo, cello)

Sextette (Ensemble Pi: Moran Katz, clarinet; Karl Kramer, horn; Airi Yoshioka, violin; Ah Ling Neu, viola; Katie Schlaikjer, cello; Idith Meshulam, piano)


Celebrating Poland: Lutosławski, Penderecki and New Music Now is presented in partnership with the Polish Cultural Institute New York.

Celebrating Poland: Lutosławski, Penderecki and New Music Now is supported, in part, by the Adam Mickiewicz Institute as part of Polska Music programme.