The National Youth Orchestra of the USA in Purchase, New York

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

This week, From the Top is broadcasting from the Performing Arts Center at Purchase College where the National Youth Orchestra of the USA has been in residence for two weeks, preparing for its national tour.

We hear 120 of America's best and brightest young musicians who have been brought together by the Weill Music Institute at Carnegie Hall, performing works by Bernstein and Gershwin, as well as a premiering a new piece by Samuel Adams, all under the baton of conductor David Robertson.

Program details:

The National Youth Orchestra of the United States of America (NYO-USA) performs Prologue and Mambo from "Symphonic Dances" from West Side Story by Leonard Bernstein.

Clarinetist Silvio Guitian, 18, from Baltimore, performs the first movement, Allegretto, from Sonata for Clarinet and Piano in E-flat major, Op. 167, by Camille Saint-Saëns, with pianist Christopher O’Riley.

NYO-USA performs Radial Play by Samuel Adams.

The NYO-USA Piano Quartet performs the fourth movement, Allegro molto, from Piano Quartet No. 1 in C minor, Op. 15, by Gabriel Fauré.
Violinist Soyeong Park, 17, from Princeton Junction, N.J.
Violist Martine Thomas, 17, from Rochester, N.Y.
Cellist Kartik Papatla, 18, from Mequon, Wis.
Pianist Christopher O’Riley

NYO-USA performs Porgy and Bess: A Symphonic Picture by George Gershwin, arranged by Robert Russell Bennett.